OX Amp Top Box

OX Amp Top Box

レビュー

OX Amp Top Box

Overall Rating

1-20 of72件の結果

ページ
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

D. Panczykowski

2019年5月9日

Whoever invented this should receive a Nobel prize

Absolutely incredible and freakishly accurate. I had previously been utilizing Aaracom attenuators with vintage Marshall and Fenders, as well as Metropoulos and Alessandro heads . However, had to relocate to very small apartment for work and even 'bedroom level' was not going to cut-it. Refusing to give up the tone I strived my whole life to find, I bought the Ox and prayed it would be 'manageable' enough for 1-year.
I've now put this thing through its paces for 1-year and I am still blown away every day by the tone. I am currently running those same amps into the Ox, then into a small mixer (via stereo XLR), then into Bose headphones. I literally can't believe the quality of what I'm hearing. The sound is natural, alive, sensitive, dynamic, and without any loss of the amp's voice. This is a truly monumental accomplishment on par with the moon landing or at least Beauchamp/Rickenbacker mounting the first pick-ups on a guitar.

J. Henderson

2019年5月9日

Was essential...getting over it

It's cool, it's handy, it does the job. But...no updates in forever. I'm getting bored with it. I miss speakers that move air into well-placed mics. I HATE the wifi/ipad aspect. Just let me connect via, you know, the USB port that does nothing. There's a lot of untapped potential. This could be an industry standard, but it seems UA has lost interest. Sad to say I am as well. Come on, UA...breathe some life into this thing.

A. Cerceau

2019年5月5日

Oui mais ...

J'ai l'impression que UA a juste laché un produit inachevé ..
Pas mal de point faible par rapport à la concurrence qui a effectué beaucoup de mises à jours
Pour moi voici les principaux point faibles :
- Clipping numérique avec certain amplis pourvu de beaucoup de headroom ( je pense aux amplis comme Two-Rock et cie )
- Aucun Cab fonctionnant bien pour du High Gain
- Échantillonnage limité à 48K ( c'est une blague ??? )
- Auncune mise à jours ( Non Universal Audio votre application est loin d'être parfaite )

Une Update est vraiment nécessaire ( je ne parle pas qu'en mon nom, dans mon entourage nous sommes beaucoup à regretter tous ses désagréments, j'ai même des amis qui repartent sur du Two-Note ou encore d'autre qui vont aller sur le Boss Waza Tube Amp Expander..

Universal Audio S'il vous plait, au lieu de dire que vous n'avez pas abandonné ce produit, faites quelque chose...

J. Woodham

2019年4月28日

Ox Amp Top Box

The ox is built like a tank with top quality components and sounds great .
iPad app works fine’ finding ox works okay .
....but would be great to be able to download UAD plugins so I had some choice to what I can use on the ox.
Really hope UA has updates for the future as now rival brand has brought out similar product with more functionality.
Might sound greedy but more cabs ‘effects’ and a choice to purchase plugins would be great.
In all a good start but with room for improvement if possible make usb function with a computer.
Sound quality five stars but given four because unsure about future updates/functionality .

R. Mohammed

2019年4月27日

Absolutely WOW!

Using the OX in conjunction with 60's Fender and 70's Marshall and Hiwatt heads. The tone is amazing right out of the chute. The speaker and mic modeling is very flexible so there is always a tone to be found. Works well with pedals and retains harmonics, which is the difference between a lifeless guitar sim and the real deal. This box costs more than others, but so do Aston Martins. Don't be a square, get an OX!

M. Farnsworth

2019年4月25日

Where are the updates?

The unit sounds great, that's for sure (unless you play high gain and need chug). But it's been over half a year since the last update, and there have been no updates that unlock the footswitch or USB functionality. No updates that add V30 or other essential speaker types. Seems to be abandoned by UA while they focus on their digital products.

K. Jacobsen

2019年4月20日

Love it, but.......

Love this thing, it sounds fantastic, it has great intentions and it’s versatile. But there are a few things that I have issues with. It should have XLR connectivity to be truly a pro product. Physically it is a problem for me to have a good placement for it in my studio, it should be rack mounted. It bumps of the wifi network regularly and need resetting. I wish it had more than one amp input. It should have higher sample rate on the digital output. I wish the on/off switch was on the front. That said, now I can’t work without it. It’s here to stay. Rock on!

J. Brazinski

2019年4月8日

Stunning

This is now one of my favorite pieces of guitar gear. I have it in a rack/amp head case for gigging, going straight out of the L&R outputs to FOH, and it works so incredibly well with my Fender Prosonic head.

The cab simulation adds a bit more amp color than I would like (i.e. the vox speaker adds more of a vox-y sound than just a straight cellestion blue would, but it does transform any amp into something completely useable. A remarkable piece of equipment for the studio or on tour.

Crystal clear sound that absolutely rivals any Kemer or Helix amp sound.

D. Brehm

2019年4月6日

XLR-Output missing

My sound engineers always wonder why there are only symmetric instrument outputs and no XLR. By using a DI-Box sound is not getting better. To avoid that a cable XLR female to instrument symmetric is needed. For such a price an XLR plug should be possible.

M. Stiso

2019年3月21日

Wi-fi control is stupid

not sure why UA thought controlling this with ONLY an iPad or computer was a good idea. Do they actually try and use this stuff? If I run a session with Pro tools using a dock the iPad needs to be on the same network as the computer running pro tools. Can't use the OX network. I have a second iPad mini but UA doesn't support that. There are however 3 USB outputs on the stupid thing but they are not functional at this time. I generally
think highly of the UA stuff but this seems to be not well thought out.

J. Vogt

2019年3月21日

The Amazing OX Amp Top Box

Picked this amazing OX box up in January. I use every aspect of this product. It gives me amazing attenuation on all of my amps. I now have the ability to use headphones through all of my amps as well as having a separate volume for headphone output. The App and the software is extremely good and customizable. My only gripes are the need for guitar cabinets with V30 speakers. As well as sometimes having issues with the OX connecting to the app via my wifi connection. Yes, I'm using comcast Xfinity internet with a 2.4 speed connection.

t. klein

2019年2月22日

un autre monde

je l'ai acheté pour l'utiliser comme atténuateur ( il y excelle ) et je m'en sers finalement comme simulateur de HP. je n'ai jamais entendu mes amplis avec tant de précision, je n'ai jamais eu tant de contrôle sur le volume. c'est juste fabuleux.

D. DIENG

2019年2月18日

The eighth wonder of the world

This is clearly the best gear I got. I own many guitars, many amps and many pedals. But this thing does a lot of marvels. Your sound stays pure and more...Now, I can hear a lot of details that I never heard before. It is worth every penny. Please UAD, release more cabinets, more treasures and the Ox Amp will be invincible... forever...

H. Jørgensen

2019年2月18日

Next update?

Still missing V30’s. Any updates including this in the near future? Really had my hopes up for the OX.

M. David

2019年1月8日

Not much to say.

There is not much to say. This device is perfect.

R. Panossian

2019年1月7日

I've been waiting for this all my life!

I have been through almost every possible way to have a guitar sound into a headphone, for the past 35 years! This is so far the best solution. I must admit that lately there have been some pretty good sounding emulators, but the big problem with almost all of them is that they don't feel like the real thing., there is is something very special that happens when you plug a guitar directly to an all tube amp that hasn't been emulated yet. Unison plug ins gets closer. All internet comparisons that compares real amps with emulators all depend on how close is the sound, in my opinion that is useless since sometimes the emulations sounds better than the real amp. Things that I love is how the different guitars preserves their unique personality and playability, it's easier to play and you just don't have to fight to get the sound you want. I'm very thankfull to be able to experience such an amazing setup. Every note is blooming and sustaining beautifully. My advice is stop purchasing amp models and get an OX and if you don't have a tube amp go get a 15 watt amp and one analog OD peddal and you'll never look back.

J. Morra

2018年11月28日

The just right one I need just right now!

Now I can crank up my tube amplifier without annoying neighbors!
So many amp simulations out there, but nothing can replace real guitar sounds from hardly pushed tube amplifiers.
And also, I can record my guitar tracks like I'm in high-end record studio with various guitar cabinets and mics!

J. Kwakman

2018年11月10日

Makes you a better player

Soundwise there is nothing anyone could teach the guys from Universal Audio. After 25 years of professional playing and using all the stuff that is available (including the Kemper profiler) in both studio and live environments I think UA raised the bar again. For me personally the winner is the combination of features. I see people comparing stuff and listening very close to what sounds best, but that is subjective. The combination of finding the sweet spot of an amplifier, switching (fantastic sounding) mics and cabs in a blink combined with top notch converters. That is what's helping the actual player and that is what it's all about. Real tube compression is one of the most important things when talking about sound and the actual 'feel' of an amp. That is something a profiler doe NOT own. Period. 5 stars for me. Brilliant product.

R. Heiringhoff

2018年10月20日

Das Ende der Amp-Mikrofonierung...?

OX ist eine Reactive Load Box, die zum Röhrenamp verschiedene Boxen simulieren kann und diese dann perfekt mikrofoniert ausgibt. Man muss kein Cabinet anschließen und kann so den Amp für Aufnahmen sehr schön am "Sweet Spot" fahren, oder man schließt eine Box an und passt diese durch Drosselung an die Location an. Die Klangqualität ist spitze im Vergleich zu ähnlichen Loadboxen, die ich getestet habe.

Universal Audio sind mit ihrer Studiohardware und Plugins qualitativ ziemlich gut aufgestellt und entsprechend ist der Raumklang und die Mikrofonsimulation großartig gelungen. Die Kiste ist sehr einfach zu bedienen (wenige Knöpfe, Einstellungen über die App) und ist aus meiner Sicht die perfekte Ergänzung zum Lieblingsamp, sowohl live als auch beim Recording. Sieht auch schick aus. Der Mischer kriegt ein symmetrisches Stereosignal, aufnehmen kann man perfekt per Digitalausgang. Das Ganze ohne Nebengeräusche und mit 3 Mikros oder DI gemischt, wie man es haben will. Es gibt 17 Cabinets und 6 Mikros, die kann man in 3 Kanälen (2x direkt, 1x Raumklang) anordnen. 2 Mics sind trocken ohne jegliche Rauminformation, daher sollte man in den meisten Situationen etwas Raum dazugeben. Bei Aufnahmen lässt sich dies auch später nur sehr schwierig nachbilden. Hier geht es auch eher um Raumreflexionen als um Reverb. Wichtig ist zu erwähnen, dass der Raum, die Cabinets und alte Mics von UA verwendet wurden und dies den Klang bestimmt. Wer also gern im eigenen Badezimmer aufnimmt, muss stark mit dem EQ und Raumhall tweaken oder sich auf den anderen Raumklang einlassen. Und man sollte den Klang im Vergleich zu einem mirkrofonierten Amp im Mischerraum sehen! Direkt vor nem Fullstack ist der Spieleindruck natürlich anders.

Es gibt praxistaugliche Presets als Ausgangsbasis, die z.T. wirklich authentisch Albumsounds nachbilden (es ist verblüffend, wie man mit dem Aufnahmeraum den Ampcharakter verändern kann!). Schon der "Speaker Drive"-Regler ist magisch!!

Cabs und Mikrofonierung lassen sich sehr akribisch verstellen und bei Bedarf kann man noch EQ, nen 1176, Delay oder ne Hallplatte drauflegen. All das geht natürlich auch nach der Aufnahme, die Plugins sind nahezu identisch mit den UAD2 (bietet sich z.B. bei der Hallplatte an). Bin total begeistert und werde wohl nie wieder ein Mikro vor meine Box stellen. Beim Gig kann man super der Amp aufreißen, die Box dann auf ne gute Monitoring-Lautstärke drosseln und den mikrofonierten Ausgang an den Mischer geben. Den Raumklang (3. Mikro) kann man dann mit dem Regler vorne nach Bedarf / Location anpassen.

Nachteile: Zurzeit kein Celestion Vintage 30 zur Auswahl (gehe davon aus, dass er später in Updates zur Verfügung gestellt werden wird, da sehr beliebt, es gibt aber auch gute Alternativen). App nur für OS-X und iPad, man arbeitet wohl an anderen Formaten. Die App ist allerdings wirklich spitze gemacht und sehr bedienerfreundlich. Ich bin sehr gespannt, wie sich die Plattform entwickeln wird - mit 3 USB-Ports und Fussschalteranschluss kann hardwareseitig auch noch was kommen. Dementsprechend ziehe ich keinen Stern ab.

Teuer ist der OX, aber man sollte dies in Relation setzen: mind. 3 gute (R-121) Mikros, Preamps dazu, perfekter Aufnahmeraum, perfekte auslöschungsfreie Mikrofonpositionen, Amp aufgedreht. Bei OX ist das jederzeit, auch live, so einzusetzen und rekonstruierbar.

Schön ist, dass die Kiste einfach super zu einem guten Röhrenamp passt und ihn dann flexibel und bei Bedarf ohne Box einsetzbar macht, ohne dass man auf Kemper & Co. zurückgreifen muss. Vor allem macht das Spielen auch über Kopfhörer total Spaß, man hört extrem viele Details vom Amp und durch die sinnvolle Bedienung ist man nicht nur am Knöpfe drehen. OX löst glaube ich für viele Leute eine Menge Probleme. Die Klangqualität lässt keine Wünsche offen - unglaublich.

F. Schebelle

2018年10月12日

All you will ever need

I played before with a Shure reactive Load and custom IRs and a computer to get a well sounding result. Now you only need your amp and the box, that's all. Se possibilities are endless if you are able to combine the cabinets with the micros and varying the micro position and using the room hall. Playing directly from the amp into your headphone or monitoring boxes. It's so easy. And in the feature there will be more. Well done!
And IRs aren't the future, the future starts here!

1-20 of72件の結果

ページ
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4