LA-610 MkII Classic Tube Recording Channel

LA-610 MkII Classic Tube Recording Channel

レビュー

LA-610 MkII Classic Tube Recording Channel

Overall Rating

101-120 of127件の結果

ページ
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Timpe

2011年6月24日

As a film score composer who dabbles in Prog/Symph rock, most of my music is created "in the box" with choice instrumentalists adding overdubs on top of existing material. Though I don't record often, when I do I need it to sound great. I A-B'd a few different preamps, and this one blew me away! Not only did it add warmth through its tube pre which you can dial in from clean to crunchy and everything in between, but it also made the sources I tried (mainly Vocals & Saxophone) sound clear and present at the same time! When compared to other preamps, this one was like lifting a blanket off the sound, and the source material just sounded more real and alive. Vocals in particular seem to pop and sound really clear and warm; like you're use to hearing on famous records, a sound that eluded me before this channel. Very nice! I also tried using the DI's for Bass and Guitar, and though the difference is not as great when running it clean, the tubes were still able to impart a very tasty sound thats hard to match in the box.

Interestingly, I'm finding its getting the most use in my "ITB world" using it to color sample/ virtual instruments via its line input. I've been using this unit to add tube warmth and LA-2A style compression to sampled instruments in my DAW, and its been MAGIC! Though its only a mono input, and thus can take time adding it to multiple sources, I've been sending sampled instruments that could use a little extra mojo (like brass for example) though this channel and its been working GREAT! I also used it on sampled guitars & basses before my amp sims, and its really doing something noticeably special.

I highly recommend you check the LA-610 out. For the price-to-quality ratio, I don't think this unit can be beat!

J. Patteson

2011年6月21日

I've been using my LA610 for a few months now and have had the chance to use it on a variety of sources using different microphones. i find the pre-amp to have enough gain for all types of microphones, ribbons included. The pre-amp itself adds a warm character which can be shaped to some extent with the two impedance settings, a very welcome feature on a rack-mount channel strip. I like that there are the optional high and low shelf EQs which allow me to shape the sound even further should I want. The compressor is smooth and easy to use. I find myself setting it so that the meter just bounces a little during peaks but otherwise stays neutral on just about everything, because it just sweetens the sound a little bit, giving it a nice smoothness. it can also be driven quite hard when necessary without destroying the source.
All in all I find it a great box and use it frequently on vocals, guitar and room mics, especially tube mics.

J. Salant

2011年6月21日

This is the biggest upgrade i have made to my studio. A beautiful tube channel with the option of gain reduction for those loud sources. My GO TO for vocal and bass. You can get some cool drive by turning up the gain knob, or a super clean feel by putting it to 0 or below. I was able to afford one but got two UA products, 610 and LA-2A, in a single rackspace to get that UA sound!

K. Klemettinen

2011年6月20日

Very good preamp. Working great with vocals and bass

M. Welgemoed

2011年6月19日

Since I started to record vocals with the LA-610 MK II, I fell completely in love with this channel strip. My vocal recordings now sound rich, clear and full of depth and definition. I shall never use another channel strip for vocal recording again. And on bass guitar...awesome results! This is a must-have piece of equipment for every professional and serious studio-musician out there!

P. Halas

2011年6月19日

I like this channel strip.
I use it in a movie studio to records dialogs.
I like to comp in it, but the real star is the preamp for me:)

J. Ivan

2011年6月18日

LA 610 MKII is the best device to use. Now I can not imagine recording without LA 610th Excellent device. Clean and precise sound. I have other UA of hardware. Excellent work.

S. Nguyen

2011年6月18日

I was using Avalon 737sp channel strip exclusively in my project studio. One day a friend of my bringing over his new UA LA 610 MKII to try out at my place so after hooking it up with my usually go to Neumann U87ai mic i was blown away by how much warm and vintage tone this give to my vocal recording session that day and a week later I went out and bought the LA 610 MKii at my Guitar center where i lived ever since it my go to Mic Preamp on almost everything I recorded.

R. Mc

2011年6月18日

FANTASTIC !!!
THE BEST EVER
MY GUITAR ,VOCALS, BASS, KEYBOARDS SOUND LIKE THE BEST EVER
BUY THIS PRODUCT BEFORE ITS TO LATE

G. Hayes

2011年6月18日

I love it, nice sound and the best compressor i've ever used

E. Wicherts

2011年6月18日

Nice Unit ! It's a bit touchy on the inputs, but overall it gives a nice vintage warm sound. Eq, although simple, gives a nice touch to the sound. Compression/limiting is smooth and natural sounding.

G. Jennings

2011年6月17日

Well maybe my engineering skills just aren't right for this unit. I got it to work ok for some things. I have it boxed up to sell. I put it on ebay for 1000 and no takers. I'll try it again for 900, which seems low since I paid 1600, but then I did get the card with it, which is doing me pretty good. I found a used Avalon that is working so much better for me as a main preamp than the 610mk2. I've had a few people tell me that the 2-610 is a better thing to have, and maybe I'll get one of those eventually. But right now I'm curious about 'iron' so I think my next one will be a neve so I can see what that's all about.

J. Beuter

2011年6月17日

My LA 610 is a very professional sounding device and I don´t want to miss it in my recording process. It produces a very full, clear authentic sound and you nearly don´t have to work on it in your DAW. Other Channelstrips need much more knobs and circuit tricks to produce a sound, which comes only a little bit close to the LA 610.
The Gain-adjustments are wideranged, also the impedance adjustments for mic, line and guitar. The level knob is also very good to adjust the tube sound in a wide range. Sometimes I wish a little more possibilities to adjust the EQ-settings, specially for the mids, but o.k., you cannot have all.
Highlight is the optical T4 compressor, which makes your record sounding very, very expensive. And it´s so easy to adjust. Very helpful are the possibilities to route the levels of the preamp, the sum level and the gainreduction to the meter. Also great is to set the compressor to limiter mode.
Five Stars for this great product, which beats nearly all the available Channelstrips on the market.
Best regards
from
Johannes

R. Reiter

2011年6月17日

This is a wonderful piece of gear, and my first-call channel strip in the studio. Makes nearly everything sound better, even inexpensive mikes. I use it to go into the AD converters and then into my Pro Tools system. Can be fairly transparent, or nicely colored - either way, I still get that great analog "Mojo" that I'm always looking for!

C. Tolle

2011年6月17日

Great warm sounding channel strip, awesome DI for Bass as well.

J. 333

2011年6月17日

very nice vintage sound but the only flaw in my opinion is not being able to bypass the preamp

D.

2011年6月17日

I use the LA-610 MkII for recording and mixing.

During mixing, the EQ and compression give me a special quality of sound that I can't achieve with most plugins.

For recording , I find the pre amp/EQ/compression works fantastically for vocal recording especially. The high frequency band works well at adding a pleasant "air" to the vocal when this is what I require.

The compressor works very naturally when controlling the dynamics of the singer. I have not yet found an instance when the limiter option has worked well for me.

I ran a comparative test between the instrument input with my Great River ME-1NV, Millennia TD-1 and the LA-610 MkII when preparing to record a bass guitar session. The Great River was very much better in my opinion than both other options. However, the LA-610 MkII performs well when capturing a direct guitar signal when I use an amp simulator in the computer.

I had the LA-610 MkII go faulty mid-session recently whilst recording tabla. The power relay switch stated to flicker on and off. As it turns out there was a problem with the power supply and all the relays in the unit downstream from that flickered on/off.

I was a fair bit disappointed to discover that the LA-610 MkII is made using SMD electrical components and not point to point wiring as the original UA hardware devices had before. This makes getting a repair done very much more complicated.

Fortunately, the local agents in South Africa, Tuerk Music in with the help of Matt Allison have been extremely helpful in identifying the problem and helping me get the unit repaired.

The only issue is that when I bought and payed for the LA-610 MkII and UAD2 solo card combo special, there was a shipment shortage from the supplier to South Africa. My unit arrive more that three months after I paid for it (worth the wait, by the way!) So now, when it came to repair the unit, it appears that I am out of warranty when in fact I am not. I will have to pay for the new power supply myself! If the folks at UAD a reading this, please see if you can rectify this. Paul Martin at Tuerk Music is my main contact for this if you choose to follow up.

In summary, I love using the LA-610 MkII. It will remain with me as a key part of my work as long as I am able to keep working in the exciting world of music recording!

Peace...

David Langemann
Creative Native Productions
Cape Town, South Africa

J. Dodd

2011年6月17日

You really can't beat great valve mic pre/compression rack units.
I have a couple of other much more expensive brands which I really love. This unit has joined that elite club, it has character and warmth, correct use of the straight forward front panel can really add to most voices, guitars, bass etc..
I love just plugging my guitars straight in the front input.. great!
The "retro design" is also pretty cool !

M. Daniele

2011年6月17日

Both 610 preamp and LA-2A compressor are evergreen classics, and their sound signature doesn't need more explanations. The combination of the two is something extremely powerful and usable.
One of my main concerns, when I was thinking to buy it, was the absence of independent I/O sections for preamp and compressor (like i.e. the 6176 channel strip). On the LA-610, you can bypass the compressor section, but you can't do the same with the preamp section. So, I was afraid to get a not completely flexible gear as the 6176 is.
When I finally got it in my studio, I started to experiment with it not only as a front-end gear for recording (this was obviously the main purpose I bought it for), but also for tracking previously recorded tracks (using the Line level input and output). There, I discovered the LA-610 can effectively be used as a standalone compressor, when needed, with its own lovely personal sound, when keeping the input preamp gain low enough to give minimum sound coloration.
Furthermore, I'm now used (for vocals especially) to record using very neutral preamps, and retracking afterwards through the LA-610. This way, I have a lot more flexibility, and I can fine-tune the LA-610 to make the tracks to sit perfectly in the mix without any other processing.
Definitely, the LA-610 is a really complete gear, you can use it as a front end pre or pre+compressor, but also as a standalone compressor, and as a "plugin" for tracking.
Really love it.

S. Breusov

2011年6月17日

Hello
I work with this machine, the floor with a microphone in a pair of AT 4060. They seem made ​​for each other! The sound on top!
Thank Universal Audio!

101-120 of127件の結果

ページ
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7